Why choose Unica College?

(Known as Musitechnic)

About

Unica College is the natural evolution of Musitechnic Formation. 

A sound engineering school founded in 1987 in Montreal by Gilles Valiquette, a well-known musician, composer, songwriter and performer. As a visionary, he was convinced that technology (especially the computer) would become the centerpiece of audio production and the music industry. This led him to create the first diploma recognized by the Ministry of Education and Higher Education entirely devoted to computer-assisted sound design.This was long before anyone knew what a computer mouse, an Mp3 or even the Internet was. This vision and experience made Musitechnic Formation a pioneer in its field.

Unica College was born out of a desire to provide local and international communities with access to cutting-edge training while meeting important human resource needs in exciting fields. Our flagship program, the A.E.C. in Recording and Sound Design, recognized as an international reference in the field, remains unchanged, albeit improved, with most of the same faculty and staff.

Unica College is founded on the same pioneering and effective vision that has kept our institution at the forefront of the industry for over 35 years.

We are committed to diversifying our programs intelligently, based on current industry needs, but also in areas that bring a sense of fulfilment to professionals in those fields.

In addition to our flagship program, we are currently developing workshops on immersive audio engineering and music production, including Dolby Atmos, the new industry standard, among other things. We're very excited about these new trainings and can't wait to tell you more about them, but we'll give you more details as their availability gets closer.

Unica College is also pleased to continue to offer unprecedented professional opportunities to its students and alumni, whether through new partnerships with various institutions and manufacturers, numerous internship and job opportunities, masterclasses and other extracurricular events.

Studying at Collège Unica (known as Musitechnic) means sharing and perfecting your skills and collaborating with industry professionals (the teachers) and other creators with the same interests and passions.

Our Values

Quality

Unica College gives you access to a team of experienced and caring teachers, facilities and equipment that will help you achieve results beyond your expectations.

Diversity

Unica College is proud to welcome people from all over the world, from all walks of life and from different backgrounds. Learn in an environment where difference is celebrated and collaboration is encouraged.

Passion

Practice and evolve with people who, like you, are invested in their art and creativity. You can rest assured, your passion for sound is shared by the teachers, students and staff at Unica College.

High Quality Training

Quality training program developed to optimize your audio knowledge and your working methods, and to ensure that you will be able to make the most of your time. Composed of 4 sessions, spread over 16 months, our program combine theory and practice in order to allow you to handle the various equipment in different environments.

EXPERIENCED TRAINERS

Unica College teachers are active and recognized professionals in their respective fields. Always on the lookout for new technologies, they will guide you throughout your journey.

FREE ACCESS TO THE STUDIOS

In parallel to your training hours, you will have free access to the labs stations as well as the studios for your personal projects and those of your friends! (Subject to the availability of the facilities).
Take advantage of our 8 audio studios and 45 workstations and practice all the techniques and skills you learn in class. You’ll be able to work on your academic and personal projects which will help you succeed.

TECHNIQUE AND PRACTICE ARE KEY,
STATE-OF-THE-ART FACILITIES.

More than half of the learning time is hands-on and delivered in our modern facilities.

Keeping our technical facilities at the cutting edge of technology is one of our priorities.

COMMUNITY AND NETWORK

Unica College (formerly Musitechnic Formation) is the perfect place to develop your network and make friendships that will last a lifetime.

Our alumni work in all areas of the audio industry, in Montreal and around the world.

PARTNERS OF CHOICE

Musitechnic Avid Learning Partner
Logos partenaires

ONLINE CAMPUS


  • Downloadable courses and supporting files
  • Studio bookings
  • Videos and lectures recorded at Unica College
  • Discounts at our partners, etc.

STUDENT SERVICES


 

ADVANTAGES OF LIVING/STUDYING IN MONTREAL


As a hub of the audio industry in the heart of North America Montreal offers a dynamic and unique cultural environment. Indeed, this multicultural student city, where French coexists with English, is a fertile creative ground for artists from here and abroad. 

Montreal offers an enviable quality of life and is one of the major North American cities where the cost of living is affordable.

Collège Unica_Icon_Blue
Home
A.C.S. Program
Contact

4060 rue Sainte-Catherine Ouest 2ème étage, Westmount, QC, H3Z 2Z3

À propos

POURQUOI CHOISIR COLLÈGE UNICA ?

Unica College is the natural evolution of Musitechnic Formation.

Collège Unica est l’évolution naturelle de Musitechnic Formation.

Une école d’ingénierie sonore fondée en 1987 à Montréal par Gilles Valiquette, un musicien, compositeur et auteur-interprète bien connu. Visionnaire, il était convaincu que la technologie (spécialement l’ordinateur) deviendrait la pièce maîtresse de la production audio et de l’industrie musicale, au point de créer le premier diplôme reconnu par le Ministère de l’Éducation et de l’Enseignement Supérieur entièrement consacré à la conception sonore assistée par ordinateur..C’était bien avant que tout le monde ne sache ce qu’était une souris d’ordinateur, un Mp3 ou même l’Internet. Cette vision et cette expérience ont fait de Musitechnic Formation une pionnière dans son domaine.

Collège Unica est né du désir d’offrir aux communautés locales et internationales l’accès à une formation de pointe tout en répondant à d’importants besoins en ressources humaines dans des domaines passionnants. Notre programme phare, l’A.E.C. en enregistrement et conception sonore, reconnu comme une référence internationale dans le domaine, reste inchangé bien qu’amélioré, avec la plupart des mêmes enseignants et membres de l’équipe.

Collège Unica est fondé sur la même vision pionnière et efficace qui a permis à notre institution de rester à la pointe de l’industrie pendant plus de 35 ans.

Nous nous engageons à diversifier nos programmes intelligemment, en fonction des besoins actuels de l’industrie, mais aussi dans des domaines apportant un sentiment d’accomplissement aux professionnels de ces domaines.

En plus de notre programme phare, nous développons actuellement des ateliers sur l’ingénierie audio immersive et la production musicale, y compris Dolby Atmos, la nouvelle norme de l’industrie, entre autres choses. Nous sommes très enthousiastes à l’idée de ces nouvelles formations et avons hâte de vous en dire plus, mais nous vous donnerons plus de détails lorsque leur disponibilité se rapprochera.

Unica College est également heureux de continuer à offrir des opportunités professionnelles sans précédent à ses étudiants et anciens étudiants, que ce soit par le biais de nouveaux partenariats avec diverses institutions et fabricants, de nombreuses offres de stages et d’emplois, de masterclass et d’autres événements extrascolaires.

Étudier chez Collège Unica (connu comme Musitechnic), c’est partager et perfectionner ses compétences et collaborer avec des professionnels de l’industrie (les professeurs) et d’autres créateurs avec les mêmes intérêts et passions.

HENDRY MATHEW
CEO
k
+
M

AVANTAGES DE VIVRE/ÉTUDIER À MONTRÉAL

Plaque tournante du domaine de l’audio, au cœur de l’Amérique de Nord, Montréal offre un environnement culturel dynamique et unique en son genre. En effet, cette ville étudiante multiculturelle, où le français côtoie l’anglais est un terrain fertile de création pour les artistes d’ici et d’ailleurs.

Montréal offre une qualité de vie enviable et fait partie des grandes villes nord-américaines où le coût de la vie est abordable.
CAMPUS EN LIGNE
SERVICES AUX ÉTUDIANTS
DES PARTENAIRES DE CHOIX

NOS VALEURS

Qualité

Collège Unica te donne accès à une équipe de professeur.e.s expérimentée et attentionnée, des installations et de l’équipement qui te permettront d’atteindre des résultats au-delà de tes attentes.

Diversité

Collège Unica est fier d’accueillir des personnes des quatres coins du monde, de tout horizon et de milieux divers. Apprends dans un environnement où la différence est célébrée et la collaboration est encouragée.

Passion

Pratique et évolue avec des personnes qui, comme toi, sont investies dans leur art et leur créativité. Rassure-toi ! Ta passion pour le son est partagée par les enseignant.e.s, les étudiant.e.s ainsi que les différent.e.s intervenant.e.s de Collège Unica.

Notre mission

ACCÈS LIBRE AUX STUDIOS

En parallèle de tes horaires de formation, tu auras un accès libre aux stations en laboratoire ainsi que la possibilité de réserver gratuitement les studios pour tes projets personnels et ceux de tes amis ! (Dans la limite des disponibilités des installations).
Profite de nos 8 studios audio et de nos 45 postes de travail et met en pratique toutes les techniques et compétences apprises en classe. Tu pourras travailler sur tes projets académiques et personnels, qui t’aideront à réussir.

DES PROGRAMMES DE QUALITÉ

Des programmes de qualité, développés pour optimiser tes connaissances et tes techniques de travail en audio. Composés de 4 sessions, réparties sur 16 mois, nos programmes combinent théorie et pratique de façon à te permettre de bien manipuler les divers équipements dans des environnements distincts.

TECHNIQUE ET PRATIQUES TECHNOLOGIQUES

Plus de la moitié des heures de formation sont pratiques et dispensées dans nos installations modernes.

Maintenir nos installations techniques à la fine pointe de la technologie est une de nos priorités.

COMMUNAUTÉ ET RÉSEAU

Collège Unica est l’établissement idéal pour développer ton réseau et nouer des amitiés qui dureront toute une vie. Nos diplômés travaillent dans toutes les sphères de l’industrie audio, à Montréal comme dans le reste du monde.

DES FORMATEURS DE MÉTIER

Les enseignants de Collège Unica sont des professionnels actifs et reconnus dans leurs domaines respectifs. Toujours à l’affût des nouvelles technologies, ils te guideront tout au long de ton parcours.

Meet Our Best Team

team-member-image
George

Data Analyst

team-member-image
Laara

Senior Developer

team-member-image
Thomas

ML Engineer

team-member-image
Joe

Data Scientist

Happy Customer Thoughts

fr_FRFrançais